The 2022  edition of the Nehru Trophy boat race will be inaugurated today on 4th September.

Many important dignitaries will be attending the programme.

Nehru boat race was inaugurated in 1952 by then Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.

It is conducted on the Punnamda Lake, near Alappuzha, on the second Saturday of August every year.

In this year's, boat race, Twenty snake boats will compete for the coveted trophy.

There would be competitions in nine categories for which 77 boats, including 20 snake boats (chundan vallams), have registered.

The heat rounds will be conducted with four teams each and the top four teams recording the fastest timings will compete in the finals.

The Nehru Trophy will be awarded to the snake boat that wins the final race.

On this occasion, The Indian Air Force (IAF) will conduct a band performance and helicopter fly-past as part of the boat race.

We hope that You have learnt something new from this Story.

If you found this useful, please share it with others.

Thanks for watching.